Character Designs – Early Sketches: Protagonist and Antagonist

First of all, I will show the designs that I have made for the protagonist, these were the first designs that I have worked on which I done on the 29/05/2015. There is still a lot of development needed due to feeling like that the protagonist has no personality in the design, making the character boring. So I need to further develop the protagonist till their is personality to the look. Below are the images from my sketchbook:

Sketch Designs for Blog1

Sketch Designs for Blog2

Now I am going to show the designs that I have created for the Antagonist. I feel that the designs for this character are a lot better and has more personality which is what I want. The character will need to be developed more, but at this point, I feel like that it is going in the right direction. Below are the designs of the character, which were created on the 04/06/2015 and 05/06/2015.

Sketch Designs for Blog3

Sketch Designs for Blog4

With all of these designs, and any future designs which include both character, environment and objects, they all need to be able to be created within 3D, due to the game being 2.5D. So I need to try and show within the designs that they can be created in 3D which I try to show by adding basic shading. In the concept versions, I will try to show shading and highlights.

Leave a comment